Law Enforcement Recognition Night

In 1992, each police department in the County of San Diego, the Sheriff’s Department, the Harbor Police, and the Highway Patrol were first invited to nominate a candidate for the title of the Scottish Rite’s Officer of the Year. The annual event has grown to include the police departments of the San Diego Unified School District as well as several college district departments.  A committee of Scottish Rite members with law enforcement backgrounds selects our Officer of Year from that pool of candidates based on outstanding accomplishments in the performance of duties during the past year. This July  event is one of our most popular because it attracts the attendance of civic officials and leading members of the community in addition to those honored and their superiors.

The last Law Enforcement Recognition Night was in 2019, before the pandemic began.  At that time, the following officers were nominated by their agencies:

Corporal Travis Anderson - Carlsbad Police Department

Officer Matthew Cavataio - California Highway Patrol

Agent Anthony Molina - Chula Vista Police Dept

Officer Bill Hughes - Coronado Police Dept

Detective Jesse Sandoval - El Cajon Police Dept

Officer Jake Houchin - Escondido Police Dept

Officer Peter West - La Mesa Police Dept

Detective Aaron DePascale - National City Police Dept

Detective Brent Keys - Oceanside Police Dept

Officer Matthew Torres - SD Community College Police Dept

DAI Edward Tugashov - SD District Attorney's Office

Corporal Thomas Bland - SD Harbor Police Dept

Detective Jana Beard - San Diego Police Dept

Deputy Probation Officer Carmen Estrella - SD Probation Dept

Detective Douglas Morse - San Diego Sheriff's Office

Officer Marcos Gobbi - SD Unified School District Police Dept

Who will be selected in 2022?

Coronado Nominee-2019.JPG
The 2019 winner is Officer Bill Hughes, 
Coronado Police Department